You are here: Home / About us / Our people / Our Board

Our Board

Portrait photo - Louise Sylvan

Louise Sylvan – President

Louise Sylvan is the Chair of Energy Consumers Australia, a body set up by COAG Energy Council to provide consumer advocacy in the national energy policy arena. Previously Louise had been the Chief Executive Officer of Australian National Preventive Health Agency, an organisation aimed at reducing preventable illness; a Commissioner of the Productivity Commission; and Deputy Chair of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (appointed as the member with expertise in consumer affairs). Louise has served internationally on the OECD Consumer Policy Committee and nationally on a range of Government advisory bodies including EPAC and the Australian Statistics Advisory Council to the ABS. Louise joined the Bush Heritage Board in 2009.

Portrait photo - Andrew Myer

Andrew Myer– Vice-President

Andrew has a long involvement with investment, film and philanthropy. He is Founder and Managing Director of the AV Myer Group, which has interests in property development, philanthropy, investment and film. He has produced and executive produced six Australian feature films and is Vice-Chair of the Melbourne International Film Festival. Andrew was a Trustee of The Sidney Myer Fund and for five years held the position of Director and Co-Vice President of The Myer Foundation. Andrew joined the Bush Heritage Board in 2007.

Portrait photo - David Rickards

David Rickards – Treasurer
BSc, BEng, MBA

David co-founded Social Enterprise Finance Australia or SEFA in 2011. David was formally an Executive Director and Head of Research at Macquarie Bank, coordinating a global team. Before joining Macquarie, David was responsible for establishing in Australia the risk management company BARRA International. He also worked as a consulting structural engineer with Maunsell and Partners Pty Ltd. David joined the Bush Heritage board in 2006.

Portrait photo - Keith Tuffley

Keith Tuffley

Keith is the Founder and CEO of NEUW Ventures SA, a Swiss-based impact investing company, focused on the creation and financing of sustainability start-up businesses. Keith spent 17 years in investment banking, and was previously Managing Director and Head of Investment Banking at Goldman Sachs in Australia, and Head of the Industrials Group across Europe, the Middle East and Africa. Keith has completed the Advanced Management Program at INSEAD, and the Goldman Sachs Non-Profit Leadership Program at Harvard Business School. He is also a Director of the Great Barrier Reef Foundation and a Governor of WWF-Australia. Keith joined the Bush Heritage Board in 2006.

Portrait photo - Sue McIntyre

Dr Sue McIntyre
BSc (Hons), PhD

Sue is a Senior Principal Research Scientist with CSIRO Sustainable Ecosystems. She currently leads a research group working on sustainability in agricultural landscapes. Sue’s 27 years of research experience has resulted in numerous publications on weed ecology, landscape ecology, conservation biology and integrative conceptual models. Throughout her career Sue has sought to render complex ecological concepts into simple principles that enable land managers to apply science into practice.  Sue joined the Bush Heritage Board in 2007

Portrait photo - Leanne Liddle

Leanne Liddle

Leanne is both a scientist and a lawyer. She's spent many years in senior management, having previously worked with South Australia's Department of Premier and Cabinet as the Manager Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Lands (APY) and the West Coast. She's also worked for many years on an award-winning project called ‘Kuka Kanyini’, which involved re-introducing animals and plants in the APY lands. Leanne is currently the Senior Policy Advisor at the Northern Land Council in Darwin. She has a Bachelor of Applied Science (with a Major in Environmental Science) from the University of South Australia and a Bachelor of Laws and Legal Practice (Honours) from Flinders University. Leanne has published internationally and nationally with her expertise in the area of traditional use of fire. She joined the Bush Heritage Board in 2009.

Portrait photo - Christopher Grubb

Chris Grubb
B.A, B.Comm

Chris has been involved in the funds management and investment banking industries for 40 years. He now specialises in investing in and advising investment management companies on investment policy and business strategies. He was a Director of Asian and Australian investment banking group Jardine Fleming for 22 years and represented them as Chief Executive in both Asia and Australia. Chris is currently a non-executive director of several Asian investment management companies and Chairman of Boardroom Australia. He is a trustee of The Australian Museum Foundation and was formerly Director of Odyssey House McGrath Foundation and Chairman of the Australian Fund Manager Foundation. Chris has been a supporter of Bush heritage's model for managing areas of unique ecological value and biodiversity for twenty years. He joined the Bush Heritage Board in 2011.

Portrait photo - Nick Burton Taylor

Nicholas Burton Taylor AM
BEc (Syd), F Fin, FCA, FAICD

Nick has a longstanding commitment to rural communities and has extensive experience in the Australian agricultural sector. He owns Hillgrove Pastoral Pty Ltd and Kenny's Creek Angus, producers of beef, wool and grain with properties in NSW and Queensland. Nick is currently the Chair of the Country Education Foundation of Australia and of Delta Agribusiness and has served on the Boards of several listed companies, many of which have a rural focus. Nick was the Founder and Managing Director of Hays Accounting Personnel and is a past President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants. Nick joined the Bush Heritage Board in 2013.

Portrait photo - Rebecca Nelson

Dr Rebecca Nelson
J.S.D., J.S.M., B.E. (Env.Eng.)/LL.B.

Rebecca Nelson is a lawyer with a strong interest in water management, regulation and policy. She is a Fellow (Non-Resident) of the Woods Institute for the Environment at Stanford University, and combines this work with independent consulting on water and environmental policy. Previously Rebecca managed a collaborative research program on groundwater law and policy between Stanford University and Sydney University, and worked in the environmental and water law practices of an international law firm, including a long-term secondment as the in-house lawyer for the Murray-Darling Basin Commission (later Authority). In 2014 Rebecca was named the Australian Young Environmental Lawyer of the Year by the Law Council of Australia for her significant contribution to environmental law. Rebecca joined the Bush Heritage Board in 2014.

Page Last Updated: Monday 2 February 2015