Our Board

Last updated 13 Nov 2017 

Chris Grubb – President

Portrait photo - Christopher Grubb

B.A, B.Comm. Appointed 2011
Chris is currently a non-executive Director of several Asian investment management companies and Chairman of Boardroom Australia. He's previously served as Chairman of ASX-listed companies and was a director of investment bank Jardine Fleming for 22 years as well as serving as a director of other public and not-for-profit organisations. He is a keen birdwatcher and naturalist.

Nicholas Burton Taylor AM – Vice President & Treasurer

Portrait photo - Nick Burton Taylor

BEc (Syd), F Fin, FCA, FAICD, FCPA. Appointed 2013
Nick has a longstanding commitment to rural communities and has extensive experience in the Australian agricultural sector. He owns Hillgrove Pastoral Pty Ltd and Kenny’s Creek Angus, producers of beef and grain. Nick is currently the Chancellor of Southern Cross University, Chair of Country Education Foundation of AustraliaDelta Agribusiness and Discovery Ag and has served on the Boards of several listed companies, many of which have a rural focus.

Dr Alexander Gosling AM

Portrait photo - Dr Alexander Gosling

FTSE FIEAust Deng MA(Hons). Appointed 2016
Dr Alexander Gosling was the founding director of Invetech, and has worked in the field of product development and technology commercialisation for 40 years. He has been appointed a member of the Order of Australia for services to industry, technology and the community, awarded an honorary Doctorate of Engineering, elected a fellow of the Academy of Technology and Engineering and a Fellow of the Institute of Engineers Australia, and sits on a number of Boards. He is an active supporter of Zoos Victoria’s “Fighting Extinction” programme. He produced a film about the Outback which included a section on Bush Heritage.

Prof Michelle Leishman

Portrait photo - Michelle Leichman

BSc (Hons), PhD. Appointed 2015
Michelle is a plant ecologist with over 20 years research experience focused on invasive plants, vegetation responses to climate change, restoration ecology and plant conservation. She leads a research group in the Department of Biological Sciences at Macquarie University. Michelle is a member of the Scientific and Conservation Committee of the Royal Botanic Gardens and Domain Trust, Sydney, and of the Australian Flora Foundation Council. She's past Chair of the NSW Scientific Committee and current Head of Department.

Phillip Cornwell

Portrait photo - Phillip Cornwell

BA LLB (Hons). Appointed 2015
Phillip is a long term supporter of Bush Heritage Australia. After 32 years as a partner at commercial law firm Allens where, as well as heading its Project Finance practice, Phillip for many years chaired its Pro Bono and Footprint Committees. Phillip is now a Senior Finance Counsel at Allens. In addition, he is a director of Suicide Prevention Australia and chairs its governance committee, and is also a director and the chair of the Australian Pro Bono Centre.

Dr Rebecca Nelson

Portrait photo - Rebecca Nelson

J.S.D., J.S.M., B.E. (Env.Eng.)/LL.B. Appointed 2014
Rebecca is a lawyer with a strong interest in water management, regulation and policy. She is a Senior Lecturer at the Melbourne Law School at the University of Melbourne, and a Fellow (Non-Resident) of the Woods Institute for the Environment at Stanford University. Rebecca combines this work with independent consulting. In 2014, Rebecca was named the Australian Young Environmental Lawyer of the Year by the Law Council of Australia for her significant contribution to environmental law.

Professor Sarah Bekessy

Portrait photo - Professor Sarah Bekessy

PhD, BSc (Hons). Appointed 2017
Sarah leads the Interdisciplinary Conservation Science Research Group at RMIT University. She's interested in the intersection between science and policy in environmental management and is currently involved in an interdisciplinary range of research projects, including an ARC Future Fellowship titled ‘Socio-ecological models for environmental decision making’ and a project funded by the Myer Foundation titled ‘Reimagining the suburb: planning for biodiversity in the urban fringe’. She's a theme leader of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Environmental Decisions and leads projects in two National Environment Science Program Hubs (Threatened Species Hub and Clean Air and Urban Landscapes Hub).

Summer newsletter