Skip to content

Life members

Life membership is an honour awarded to a few special people who've made exceptional contributions to our success.
Karen Alexander.

Karen Alexander, OAM

In recognition of Karen’s contribution to strategy development, staffing capacity, management and governance in our formative years. During her time as President (1996-2000), Karen oversaw our transition to an organisation of national prominence and scale. She also led the way in recognising the importance of partnerships that are now such a significant part of our work.

Phillip Toyne.

Phillip Toyne, AO


For his inspirational leadership of the Board as President (2001-09), his continued support of Bush Heritage and work in the conservation and indigenous sectors.

Bob Brown.

Dr Bob Brown

In appreciation of his outstanding contribution in establishing the Australian Bush Heritage Fund in 1991 and his continuing involvement since as President and Patron.

More on Bob Brown’s role in the history of Bush Heritage >>

Judy Henderson.

Judy Henderson, AO

Judy was a founding member and director of Bush Heritage. From 1990 when Bob Brown first put a deposit on the two Liffey blocks, Judy played a crucial role. She did much of the challenging and detailed work needed to secure the blocks, establish a legal, tax and administrative structure and negotiate personal loans and mortgage funding from Australian Ethical Investments.

Don Royal.

Don Royal

In appreciation of his outstanding support as volunteer ranger during Bush Heritage’s early days of large property acquisition.

Louise Sylvan.

Louise Sylvan

In recognition of her work as president, leading the organisation through a period of growth. Louise gifted Bush Heritage the 'Nameless' Sylvan Reserve in NSW, which is the resting place of her late husband Richard Sylvan, a philosopher and environmentalist.

Chris Grubb.

Chris Grubb

Chris was appointed to our Board of Directors in 2011 and brought significant business and finance sector experience. He served as President from 2017 to 2019.

{{itemsInCart}} Items - {{formatCurrency(grandTotal)}}